About Me

What would you like to know? I am a pretty open person - find out more about me below.

Life Today: Today, my life is so much richer than it has been in years past. I am not out to make it seem as though I have no struggles - we all have struggles - but I am blessed to have an incredibly supportive husband who is my rock and my guidance through any and all of life's issues. Without him I would be half as much as I am today. Together we have only become better, and we encourage and challenge each other to be the best possible people we can be each and every day. We were married on August 25th, 2012, in my twin sisters' backyard - It was a beautiful Summer day with many friends and family members.

Personal Struggles: I have struggled with depression, low self-esteem, lack of confidence, weight fluctuations, and body image issues for as long as I can remember. I really have nothing to hide in that regard, because I believe everyone struggles with different internal issues. Most people are ashamed of their past (or current) situations; I choose to embrace it so that I can learn from it and move forward. Personally, medications and fad diets and a lot of the hype that the American culture seems to push are not things I wish to advocate. I believe holistic health - inside and out, and that includes mental health - are very closely integrated. You will occasionally see me go on a rant about health in America, medical doctors, and the like. (If you're not into natural cures or holistic medicine then I may not be the best blog for you to follow.) :)

Long-term Goals & Hopes: My long-term goal is to become a Therapist / Licensed Mental Health Counselor. I've always wanted to be in business for myself (I am not good at taking direction from others, but I sure am good at GIVING direction to others!!) There's a great program down here in the Portland area that I'm looking into. For the time being, though, I am focusing on my career, getting to know my surroundings in Portland, working on my blog, and focusing on my marriage (I am a newlywed, too! Phew!) My husband and I are looking forward to starting a family as well!

My Career: I have worked in Human Resources & Recruiting for the past 6 years. I offer resume services for any of you who are trying to get further your career. Whatever it may be - even if you are in business for yourself - it's so important to maintain a level of professionalism, posses good networking skills, and always represent yourself positively in the workplace. A good resume and interviewing skills can get you anywhere. Check out the "Contact Me" page for more information!

Hobbies: I absolutely love cooking! When I do cook, I make some amazing dishes - which I share on my blog pretty frequently, so keep your eye out for those. In my spare time, you will usually find me blogging, writing, tweeting, taking pictures, playing with my dog and cat, spending time with my husband, shopping, trying new makeup looks, painting my nails, listening to music, reading, watching YouTube vlogs, playing games, or any combination of those things. I don't spend my time in clubs or bars and I rarely drink - once you're older than about 24 that stuff becomes kind of unappealing :)

Background & Ethnicity: I am of Irish, Norwegian, and Puerto Rican decent. My Father is half Irish, half Puerto Rican and my mother is a mix of European (Norwegian, German, and some Scottish, I believe.) My paternal grandfather was 100% Irish; my paternal grandmother, 100% Puerto Rican. I only met my grandmother a handful of times, and my grandfather passed away long before I was born. I remember visiting Corpus Christi Texas when I was in my teens, and my grandmother making homemade pastelles - a Puerto Rican dish made with plantains, along with rice and beans. She made the best rice and beans I've ever tasted in my life. My maternal grandfather also passed away when I was very young, but he fought in World War II (he was born in the 20s!) My maternal grandmother is still alive and active to this day - she is almost 90!

My parents met at a political rally in the 70's, but unfortunately were divorced many years later. My Father is a retired artist and author who lives with his wife in Nashville, Tennessee. My Mother is also retired and lives in Seattle with her kitty (Bebe). She makes beautiful jewelry, collects books and art, writes poetry, and loves traveling to Mexico.

Social Networking: To be honest, most of my personal life is shared via my Twitter and Instagram accounts! I also have a personal Twitter and Instagram accounts if you'd like to follow me.

I hope this answers your burning questions about my life!!

No comments:

Post a Comment